the words just tumble out

So I’m working on a post, but I take a minute to see what’s up on some other WordPress blogs, and I’m so glad I did!  I love this post by A Well-Versed Mom.  She’s celebrating National Poetry Month and she’s found a YouTube video of a 3-year old reciting the poem “Litany” by Billy Collins.  The words just tumble out of this little preschooler’s mouth, and why not – when we’re so young we have no self-conscious inhibitions about reciting poetry, we just love the sound of the words (and the sound of our voices!).  Check it out and give yourself a smile on this rainy April Tuesday.  The video also reminds me of the months my young nephews were performing Queen’s “Bohemian Rhapsody” and “We Will Rock You” on demand (what?  it’s exactly the same).  Anyway, I’m off to update my ipod, and then locate my kids’ Jack Prelutsky books so we can recite some poetry tonight!

Leave a Reply

