What shall we read tonight?

What’s your favorite book to read aloud with your kids?  Today is World Read Aloud Day (and no, I don’t know who gets to decide      these things), a day worth celebrating because reading aloud with your kids is one of the simplest, least expensive, and most rewarding activities you can share.  There are mountains of studies that extol the benefits of reading aloud – it builds vocabularies, encourages    reluctant readers, and inspires a lifelong love of reading – but what I love best is the fun we have and the happiness we get to share when my family reads aloud together.  It helps to have books nearby that are pitch-perfect read-alouds, and it’s worth noting that not all great books are great read-alouds.  For inspiration, you can look to the E.B. White Read Aloud Awards, an annual recognition bestowed by the American Booksellers Association.  You can also ask our local children’s librarians, remember your childhood favorites, and trade recommendations with your friends.  Personally, I love books that allow me to get a little silly with my kids, altering my voice for different characters, which means that we have lots of fun with Skippyjon Jones by Judy Schachner, the Charlie and Lola books by Lauren Child, and A Pirate’s Guide to First Grade by James Preller.  What’s your favorite?

         

4 thoughts on “What shall we read tonight?”

    1. Thanks for commenting! I’m not yet familiar with that story, but that’s what I love about trading recommendations! And my youngest is quite fond of doughnuts…

  1. i LOVED reading ‘The Witches” to mine! It was one of my favorites from childhood & their reactions to my German accent were hilarious!

Leave a Reply

